3 things children can teach grown-ups

Image

And what things have you learned from children?

Spending time with children, whether they are related to you or not, is always rewarding and to that list we would like to add a few more lessons we as adults should all learn from children.

Paulo Coelho said that “A child can teach an adult three things: to be happy for no reason, to always be busy with something, and to know how to demand with all his might that which he desires.” Here are the three things children have taught me:

1. Be fearless: Hanging out with my little brother the other day, I realized how resilient kids really are. To them, it doesn’t matter how many times they trip and fall. Seconds later they are up and running. Unlike adults, who are ready to give up at a slightest encumbrance, kids don’t dwell on the pain and disappointment – they only focus on their goals.

2. Give from the heart: Kids’ generosity has no bounds. If hey are happy, they won’t shortchange you with smiles, hugs and kisses. They are not afraid to show their true emotions and reward you with sparkling eyes full of admiration. Every time, my 2-year-old nephew sees me, he insists on giving me his most cherished treasures and just goes ecstatic with happiness when I accept them.

3. Be yourself: Have you noticed how young children answer questions incorrectly but at the same time are so completely sure they are right? How come kids never second-guess their answers or choices? Probably because unlike us grown-ups, they blindly trust their inner knowing and intuition. Sheltered from the societal pressures and stereotypes, children know exactly who they are and what they want to accomplish.

As I spend time with the little geniuses trying to teach them new words, I can’t help but notice how they are also teaching me to be curious, brave, loving and careless. Thousands of our myBestHelper helpers feel the same way and if you were to ask them why they like their jobs, I bet you they would have many more similar stories to share.

What about you? Has a child ever taught you an important lesson? We would love to hear it. Please share!

Kristina Lebed is a Social Media and Community Manager for myBestHelper

5 thoughts on “3 things children can teach grown-ups

  1. Crazy. Sweaty. Mommy

    Love this blog! Manners seem to be scarce these days. I always try to teach my own children and my students the importance of manners….as simple as a “Bless you” when someone sneezes!
    One thing that my kids have taught me is that…. If you love the song that’s on the radio, sing it as loudly as you can and enjoy every moment!

    Reply

Comment

